WhatsApp is rolling out a new feature known as ‘View Once‘. This feature will let you set the media you sent to anyone to be viewed once. According to WABetaInfo, Facebook’s founder earlier confirmed the arrival of this feature, and today they have announced that they are rolling out this feature on WhatsApp for Android users.
Users can simply check this feature in the Chatbox. Simply add media that you want to send, and you will see a circular icon close to sending tab. That icon replicates the view once option.
While setting the media to View Once, they can be viewed only once when they have been opened by the recipient. After that, the media will be disappeared once you close it.
Furthermore, Android users can also set photos and videos to View Once in group chats, and you will be able to know who has opened the desired message. Do note the recipient might save the photos by taking screenshots, but you won’t be notified because WhatsApp hasn’t introduced a screenshot detection feature yet.
Additionally, those users who haven’t received this feature, while you have this feature enabled and you share media with them can also view the photo or video only once.
This feature is rolling out and will be available for Android users today, while some might not get it yet. But don’t worry you will get this feature in the forthcoming updates. For iOS users, it will be announced later. Stay connected.