Connect with us


FIFA Confirms Final Three-man Shortlist For Puskas Award



Lionel Messi

World football’s governing body, FIFA have confirmed the final three for this year’s Puskas Award.

The final three nominees for the 2019 Puskas Award was announced by FIFA earlier on Monday and it included Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi.

Barcelona superstar Messi made the list because of his delicate chip against Real Betis in a Spanish La Liga game played last season.

Juan Quintero and Daniel Zsori completed the three-man shortlist for the 2019 FIFA Puskas Award.

Other names on the previous nominees’ list include Andros Townsend, Ajara Nchout, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Fabio Quagliarella, etc.

The previous list of nominees was trimmed down to the last three via votes from fans.

FIFA will announce the Puskas Award winner at The Best Awards on the 23rd of September in Milan.

Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi is seen by many as the favourite to win the Puskas Award this year as a result of his moment of brilliance against Real Betis.

Messi has not had the best of starts this season as he tries to recover from a thigh injury sustained shortly before the start of the season.

The Argentine international skipper has missed the Spanish La Liga games against Athletic Bilbao, Real Betis and newcomers Osasuna.


Segun is a regular contributor to beIN sports and has worked at several publications, including Aljazeera, and taslkSport.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Feature On

Arsenal News Chelsea News Liverpool News Manchester United News Spurs News Manchester City News West Ham News Everton News Rangers FC News